Vlorbik's Diner

son of owen's cooking show

brighter in the morning

Posted by vlorbik on April 1, 2014

Photo on 2014-04-01 at 15.12

Photo on 2014-04-01 at 12.31

One Response to “brighter in the morning”

  1. vlorbik said

    “A year or so ago,” he says, “I was asked to speak to a short-story class at Sarah Lawrence College. I went, and I enjoyed the day, but it isn’t something I’d ever want to do again. I got very oracular and literary. I found myself labeling all the writers I respect. ( Thomas Mann, in an introduction he wrote for The Castle, called Kafka a ‘religious humorist.’ I’ll never forgive him for it.) A writer, when he’s asked to discuss his craft, ought to get up and call out in a loud voice just the names of the writers he loves. I love Kafka, Flaubert, Tolstoy, Chekhov, Dostoyevsky, Proust, O’Casey, Rilke, Lorca, Keats, Rimbaud, Burns, E. Brontë, Jane Austen, Henry James, Blake, Coleridge. I won’t name any living writers. I don’t think it’s right. I think writing is a hard life. But it’s brought me enough happiness that I don’t think I’d ever deliberately dissuade anybody (if he had talent) from taking it up. The compensations are few, but when they come, if they come, they’re very beautiful.”

    “ J. D. Salinger,” Book of the Month Club News, (biograhy to accompany The Catcher in the Rye) July 1951.

Leave a Reply

 
