Vlorbik's Diner

son of owen's cooking show

all roads lead to shakespearefest

Posted by vlorbik on November 15, 2009

recently i’ve posted (what i’ve been calling)
rambles on foundational topics like
plugging without even chugging,
how to write cross-products,
and symbolic logic via ordered pairs.

sketches of lectures never to be given
as i now choose to think of ’em…
not that there’s anything wrong with
“rambles”. i’ll probably go right on
*calling* ’em that. just please don’t
think my actual *lectures* have ever
been so rambly. necessarily.

okay. what’s on my mind today.
about sets and algebra natch.
big picture. how big.
my life story. too big.
publishing and algebra.
and me. just right.
here goes. publishing first.
annus mirabilis:
1968
(actually 68-69; one thinks
in academic years since before
the beginning.)
cops and kids fighting in the streets
and martin and bobby and all that, sure.
but for my purposes:
my beloved 6th-grade.
both my main teachers i loved.
pretty doggone undyingly as it turns out
though of mister ratts i think but seldom.
mary ann di baggio taught us math
and taught us well. *i* got a model
of “math teaching done right”.
also, though this had little to do
with miss di baggio directly…
her role was to provide access to equipment
and a receptive environment for us to
share our results in (no small thing
and indeed a very big thing and if
there were a heck of lot more of this
instead of a heck of lot less we wouldn’t
now be in a position of having to make
the events of 68 look like a party…
but i digress)… zines.
i did my first self-publishing
in di baggio’s class (with
andrew mcgarrell,
peter strickholm, and
tom hoffa (who appears
not to have a webpage):
twenty copies or so (at a guess)
of each of about four issues of GlOAT
(the lowercase L
is not a misprint). purple “spirit
master” one-side-to-a pagers. (dittos!)
i soon went on to do
(in “printings” of one;
i circulated these kid-by-kid
myself at school after drawing
’em at home) the _ten_page_news_.
i revived the title years later,
beginning just before the zine boom
(before hypertext… so called e-zines
[and blogs and such]… captured those
easily lured by the easier softer way
of the dark side [including me alas]).
anyhow you get the idea: self-publishing
goes way back for me. i soon began doing
a zine *about* zines: _indy_unleashed_.
in this TPN piece from 1998, i claimed
that “the ten page news is most
of my social life”… showing that
my interest in self-publishing
also goes way deep.
hypertext was a natural for me;
indeed mike cagle (linked-in profile) had given me
a copy of ted nelson’s
(seminal, self-published)
_dream_machines_
almost twenty years before the web
broke big (with graphical browsers).
i’ve recently rambled on this part
of my publishing autobiography already
(in my “about” page; not
necessarily a good place for it).
so. turning to algebra.
i majored in algebra in the sense
that i wrote my doctoral dissertation on it. so i trained
as a professor. and was one briefly.
and felt (and still feel) that it was
work i was “born to do”. but i soon
lost my professional rank and title.
after a year of death throes in the form
of never-even-an-interview applications
all over the country i quit trying and
worked freelance from then—1996—
till the day before yesterday. spring quarter.
as a teacher and tutor. and… ta-dah!
published _vlorbik_on_math_ed_
until the efforts to write up algebra
in blog format finally snapped
my patience
(and i quit
blogging for five hot minutes).
part of the point of the turn-of-century
_ten_page_news_ was to have some extra-academic
use for the typesetting system…
\TeX
i’d learned for writing up my thesis
and gone on to write exams and quizzes in.
as well as a set of lecture notes.
source files now lost. also for that
matter part of the point of _VME_ itself
was *also* to work with TeX.
it was harder than i thought it would be.
anyhow now i’m at it again.
wordpress i’ve only learned to do
little things on. and those badly.
but i’ve got a copy of the real now
on Legion (and it isn’t even bootlegged!).
leslie lamport claims that things
have stabilized recently qnd i’m
inclined to trust him even though
he evidently works for microsloth.
so far so good. i’m producing
pretty pages with unfamiliar ease. but i
can’t yet put .pdf’s online for all to see just now.
which is sort of strange. looks like google
had a page you could do it with easily.
for about a day. but this is conjecture.
by the time i got there they’d quit
taking on new users. some experimental deal.
all for this morning. what’s to eat?

12 Responses to “all roads lead to shakespearefest”

  1. vlorbik said

    this turns out to be in part a rewrite of
    this “math autobiography”.

    hey, i write ’em so i can get ’em *out* of my head.

  2. vlorbik said

    elevatorlady’s latex intro.

  3. pstrickh said

    Vlorbik,

    Hi there, vlorbik. Greetings from B-town, Indiana, where I still am. Trying to do a little in “the arts” in this recession economy. Check out my website, http://www.peterstrickholm.com, where I have scores and Cds for sale. Mary Ann DiBaggio taught me “the scientific method” in teaching me how to write geometry proofs. I still have the old GlOAT magazines in storage at my apartment. Perry Wagle is in Portland area, Oregon still– if you’re not in contact with him now you should be. I put my composer’s profile in “Linked-In”. Will not do “Facebook” because I value mumerous privacy issues.

    -Peter.

  4. vlorbik said

    i’ve got “early piano works” loaded on this computer.
    bathtub jazz & # i-forget-what… the untitled one
    ray bunnage used to play all the time… have the status
    of classics to my ear and “feel” like favorite old
    pop tunes from some old music master.
    all of it’s quite listenable; i recommend it.
    probably i’ll get volume two soon now that
    i know it exists… numerous currency issues…

    great to hear from you. bhsn 75 showed up
    in a big way in facebook over the last year
    or so but i sure understand your choice to
    keep your data to yourself. the net is scary.
    the dangers are real. facebook newbies are
    putting up all *kinds* of stuff they’ll regret.

    perry’s been on board for maybe a couple months
    but we’ve corresponded not at all except to trade
    usernames (his is “perry wagle” so it’s pretty easy
    to find). evidently he attended some hackerfest
    in portland last month. ( i still can’t hack code
    for squat. you see how fast they move the target
    and all motivation just vanishes. meanwhile,
    for example, “limits” are *exactly as mister
    peters showed me* in 70s. reminds me.
    andy strawn’s on the book too. teaches
    at ivy tech evidently. *i* should apply there.)

  5. vlorbik said

    http://www.logicmazes.com/games/puz1to4.html

    ultima puzzles by abbott.

  6. pstrickh said

    Vlorbik,

    Check out my “Irish Jazz” CD, along with my Early Piano works Vol. 2. I did those improvisations in the mid-’80s and two local Irish musician friends here did the digital master transfer and the artwork for two cases of beer.
    Phipple has got all the old BHSN cronies on his facebook, but of course he is smart and is not listing any “preferences” on the web. I went on Linked-In this Xmas instead because it is more practical to my needs and safer, though I’m told most artists and musicians (such as Alan Bern, Brian Gephart, Matt Darriau) are doing facebook. And myspace. (I have my own website.)
    Perry has some sort of brain problem, brain injury or maybe a stroke, as you know. He’s one of my Linked-In “connections”, though he communicates only irregularily. It seems from what I can tell about him on the web that he’s gotten quite socially active and has a good network of friends in Portland now.
    Ray Bunnage has not communicated to me (or to Ellie Murray) for 5-10 years now. My Xmas cards to him in Seattle do not get returned, however. If you have any knowledge about him, I would like to know.
    Ivy Tech has grown a lot in the past 10 years. The director here in B-town is a very liberal folk. You should maybe check it out, but I don’t know if you want to relocate from Columbus.
    I remember Abbots’ “New games.” Somewhere I think I have the written rules to our “Woot.”

    -Peter.

  7. vlorbik said

    i’d relocate in a heartbeat if madeline
    wanted to do it (and if one could
    *do* it in a heartbeat… moving
    stuff around
    is a major bane
    living as i do in two different
    enclaves of a collapsed metropolis
    without car (or license)).

    haven’t heard from bunnage in eons.
    ellie’s on facebook under another name.

    i’ve got everything about me i could jam
    through the laserwires up online and
    have done for many years. i don’t
    recommend it and indeed “internet
    addiction” provokes pretty severe
    emotional reactions from me along
    the borderlines of the bits/reality
    interfaces. i can be *on* the net.
    or *off* the net, sometimes.
    but this on-and-off-and-
    -still-off-no-wait-try-again-
    -on-no-dammit-off is worse
    sometimes even than ordinary
    sleeplessness.

    “woot” was a hoot.
    there’s this zinester that did a game
    called “spooneye” that was, anyhow,
    a masterpiece of *zines*. (i never
    played the game). i recently pointed
    my net pal sue v at abbot’s stuff;
    she liked these mazes.

    davor slamnig designed a game at dekist st.
    (or anyhow, began it; early playtesting showed
    some promise) the same year he drew the “no being
    shall escape the feberpail” comic still in my possession.
    now *there* was a creative guy.

  8. pstrickh said

    Can’t find the rules to “woot” and I’ve checked through my box of high school class notebooks, where it would be (unless it is with my yearbooks, etc, which it might). I remember the rules, however.
    Perry has been a professional computer programmer with a masters in computer science from I.U. Ellie married Tim Feddersen and her last name is Feddersen. Tim was a class of ’76 from North and played trombone in the jazz band. Tim is now a prof. of political science at Northwestern.
    This blog is interesting, but maybe we should get off it and get off the internet addiction and on to ordinary email. I am at pstrickh@kiva.net. My address in B-town is the same as it has been since 1998. B-town is economically buffered a lot from the recession, and there are a lot of new businesses here such as restaurants that are actually thriving.
    Somebody a few years ago came through B-town and drew on the famous chalkboard at the downtown coffee house, The Rundible Spoon, an old-fashioned caricature of John Gloat. After ruling out Phillip, I decided it was you.

    -Peter.

  9. pstrickh said

    Owen,

    Please give me your address in Columbus. I want to send you a complimentary copy of my “Irish Jazz.” And I have also put together a 75-minute compilation CD of performances of the best of my post-high school classical compostions this Xmas. From Colorado College, U. Colo. Boulder, and pieces recorded/mastered with Grey Larsen and his studio here in town.

    -Peter (“Eterp”)

  10. pstrickh said

    Davor Slamnig. I haven’t heard that name in 35 years. I think he was from the Czeck Republic (Czeckoslovakia). The Bashgoz twins. Herman B Wells Indiana University internationalism. Do you have a photograph of our U. School 5th grade class? The old education building (the source of much of our innovative education) and the old University High School building on campus has been taken over by the music school in the mid-’90s and they have two new performance halls there. Herman B Wells, I.U. president from the ’30s to the ’60s, has shaped our lives more than you believe (including your math education philosophies). When he died in 2000 at the fine old age of 97, he left the longest bibliography of anyone in Marquis’ “Who’s Who in America.”

    -Peter.

  11. pstrickh said

    Whoops- Herman B Wells. Longest “biography.”

    -P.

  12. vlorbik said

    davor was from farther south. croatia i imagine.
    anyhow, the former yugoslavia. you’re probably
    thinking of martin tuma.

    spooneye!

Leave a Reply

 
